GO TEAM!

We found out not long ago that a friend of ours is a budding building designer and so we were over the moon when he agreed to help us with our house extension! 2015-04-19 10.16.14 1_resizedIt is really important when building or renovating to have a building designer or architect involved in your project. They have a wealth of knowledge and understanding of the processes and codes that are required and wear many hats, from designer, documenter, project manager, client advocate and in many occasions… motivator, mediator and councillor! We are so excited to have Nigel (our building designer extraordinaire) on board because I will not lie, I personally just do not have the time and motivation outside of what is an extremely busy career to try an handle all of the work and details myself. And I just LOVE the idea of collaborating with him to get what I know will be the best result for us. Go TEAM!2015-04-19 10.15.54 1_resized2015-04-19 10.16.05 1_resizedSo Nigel popped round the other week to take some measurements of the back of the house and to have a chat about what we are after for the extension. We ran him through the ideas we have to extend the galley kitchen into an open plan kitchen/dining/living and hopefully add a second bathroom, and showed him the ‘look and feel’ imagery we have been collecting. I have a fairly good idea of what I want the extension to look like and it was so great to stand out the back and brainstorm together on how we can make this all work. I’ve done some basic sketches of how I would like the planning and the façade of the house to work. But I’ll show you these when Nigel brings together his plans.

We’re hoping to catch up with him next week and see how it is all coming along!

Leave a comment